HOLIDAY IN THE SALZBURGER LAND

The Salzburger Land: Wonderful variety against an idyllic Alpine backdrop

The natives of the Salzburger Land regard their home as Austria’s most beautiful Province – and they are not the only ones! The provincial capital of Salzburg, steeped in history and culture and stunningly beautiful, is surrounded by lakes, mountain pastures and picturesque villages that are just waiting to be explored. For the majority of holidaymakers, the Salzburger Land is also the perfect destination for outdoor pursuits. A renowned winter sports region, the Salzburger Land has numerous ski resorts that are perfect for a holiday with family and friends.

In summer, too, the region has plenty to offer: hiking, mountain biking, visits to climbing parks, museums and zoos all make for a wonderful summer programme. It is precisely this variety that makes Austria, and the Salzburger Land in particular, such popular tourist destinations. A holiday in the mountains, at a lake, in a city, on the slopes or a thermal spa – the choice is yours! The fact that the region is easily accessible is also a point in its favour. Salzburg is just one hour away, and from Munich it’s a two-hour drive through stunning Alpine scenery.

An active holiday in the Pinzgau

The Salzburger Land consists of five regions, or “Gaue”: Flachgau, Tennengau, Pongau, Pinzgau and Lungau. The Pinzgau is a region in the west of the Province of Salzburg and part of the political district of Zell am See. The mountain ranges of the Hohe Tauern, the Kitzbühel Alps and the Steinernes Meer constitute its natural borders. Embedded in beautiful scenery, between mountain peaks and crystal-clear waters, the district capital of Zell am See forms the centre of the Pinzgau holiday region.

The hiking paradise of Schmittenhöhe, Lake Zell, the all-year glacier ski resort of Kitzsteinhorn and the cycling trails with a total length of 1,500km attract visitors from far and wide. And if all you are looking for is a dose of rest and relaxation, head to the Tauern Spa in Kaprun.

 

Skiing in Saalbach Hinterglemm, copyright: saalbach.com | Mirja Geh
Skiing in Saalbach Hinterglemm, copyright: saalbach.com | Mirja Geh

Glemmtal: skiing or mountain biking, that is the question

The ski circus Saalbach-Hinterglemm-Leogang in the Glemmtal valley has an impressive 270km of pistes and 70 state-of-the-art lift facilities. This is a ski resort worthy of its name: cross-country trails, freeride pistes, snow parks, tobogganing runs, winter hiking trails, rides in a horse-drawn sleigh… the “Home of Chilled” leaves nothing to be desired.  In summer, the Glemmtal attracts mountain bikers as well as hikers.  On the mountain biking scene, Saalbach Hinterglemm has long since made a name for itself as a mountain biker’s paradise.

First along the Saalach river, then up into the mountains: the mountain bike opportunities attract aspiring and established touring professionals from all over the world. The route of the legendary World Games of Mountainbiking is also waiting to be explored!

URLAUB IM SALZBURGER LAND

Das Salzburger Land: Vielfalt in idyllischer Alpenkulisse

Das schönste Bundesland Österreichs – so sehen nicht nur die Bewohner des Salzburger Landes ihre Heimat. Die geschichtsträchtige und malerische Landeshauptstadt Salzburg lockt mit reichhaltigem Kulturangebot, im Umland wollen Seen, Almen und pittoreske Dörfer erkundet werden. Für die Großzahl der Urlauber ist das Salzburger Land vor allem ein Sportlerparadies. Als Top-Winterdestination gibt es eine Vielzahl an Skigebieten, um mit der Familie, Freunden oder in der Gruppe die Piste unsicher zu machen.

Doch auch im Sommer ist einiges geboten! Wandern, Mountainbiken oder Ausflüge in Kletterparcours und Tierparks stehen dann auf dem Unterhaltungsprogramm. Genau diese Vielfalt ist es, die Österreich und insbesondere das Salzburger Land als Reiseziel so beliebt macht. Urlaub in den Bergen, am See oder in der Stadt, aktiv auf der Piste oder entspannt in der Therme – alles ist möglich. Die gute Erreichbarkeit ist ein großer Pluspunkt. In nur einer Stunde erreichen Sie die Region von Salzburg, von München erreichen Sie in zwei Stunden Fahrt bei schönstem Alpenpanorama die Urlaubsregion.

Aktivurlaub im Pinzgau

Das Salzburger Land ist in fünf Gaue gegliedert, den Flachgau, Tennegau, Pongau, Pinzgau und Lungau. Der Pinzgau ist eine Landschaft im Westen des Bundeslandes Salzburg. Es ist identisch mit dem politischen Bezirk Zell am See und wird von den Hohen Tauern, den Kitzbüheler Alpen sowie dem Steinernen Meer begrenzt. Eingebettet in schönste Natur, zwischen Berggipfeln und glasklarem Wasser ist die Bezirkshauptstadt Zell am See das Zentrum der Urlaubsregion Pinzgau.

Das Wanderparadies Schmittenhöhe, der Zeller See, das ganzjährige Gletscherskigebiet Kitzsteinhorn und 1500 km Radwege locken die Besucher in die Gegend. Und wer einfach nur entspannen will, entflieht im Tauern Spa in Kaprun ein paar Stunden dem Alltag.

Skifahren in Saalbach Hinterglemm, Fotorechte: saalbach.com | Mirja Geh
Skifahren im Skigebiet Saalbach Hinterglemm Fotorechte saalbach.com | Mirja Geh

Glemmtal: Skifahren oder Mountainbiken?

Der Skicircus Saalbach-Hinterglemm-Leogang im Glemmtal imponiert mit 270 Pistenkilometern und 70 modernsten Liftanlagen. Dieses Skigebiet kann sich sehen lassen: Langlaufloipen, Freeridepisten, Snowparks, Rodelbahnen, Winterwanderwege, Pferdeschlittenfahrten – das „Home of Lässig“ lässt bei Wintersportlern keine Wünsche offen.

Im Sommer tummeln sich neben Wanderern vor allem Mountainbiker im Glemmtal. Saalbach Hinterglemm hat sich bei den Bikern längst als Radfahrparadies entpuppt. Entlang der Saalach, dann hinauf in die Berge: Der Bikecircus lockt die Touren-Profis aus aller Welt und auch die, die es noch werden wollen. Sogar die Route der legendären World Games of Mountainbiking können Sie hier erfahren.